Coconut Oil Addict – Loud and Proud!

I can’t not have a jar of good quality coconut oil at home. I just can’t – it’s honestly that essential to me. Like toothpaste, or shampoo, or pickled jalapenos… (they taste good in everything you guys).

Coconut oil, where have you been all my life?

Coconut oil, where have you been all my life?

I was chatting with a friend about all the things I use it for, and realized there were a TON so wanted to share some ways you can use coconut oil if you’re not already on the bandwagon.

Moisturizer. This is a pretty standard one, but think about it. Go pick up your go-to body lotion. How often do you apply it, every day? Now read the ingredients. Are there lots? Are some of them gucky, potentially harmful chemicals? Ingredients in coconut oil: one. It smells amazing, and your skin will be soft and silky. What’s not to love?

Body scrub. I mix coconut oil with raw sugar and leave it in the shower in a little container to use as a body scrub. Leaves my skin soft and smooth, and no need to moisturize afterwards.

Also, we all have that same plastic Ikea plant, right?

Also, we all have that same plastic Ikea plant, right?

Hair mask. Leave it on your hair for a few hours, blast with a hot hairdryer, then shampoo out when you shower. Helps to nourish dry hair and your scalp. I also use it when I’m out of Moroccan Oil to smooth ends after styling.

Makeup remover. This stuff gets makeup off like nothing else I’ve ever tried, especially eye makeup. Massage on your face (or just your eyes) and remove with cotton pads soaked in hot water.

Moisturizing face mask. My skin gets pretty dry during the winter so I make a face mask with coconut oil, a spoonful of raw honey and pinch of cinnamon. I rub it onto clean skin and let it sink in, then rinse it off with a warm washcloth. Helps to keep my skin clear, soft and reduce redness.

Eye cream/eyelash treatment. Before bed I dab a little bit around my eye area and on my lashes. Keeps my lashes super-long and healthy.

Night cream. I don’t personally use it as a cream, I like rosehip oil, but know of a few people who do like to use a tiny amount as a face cream when their skin is extremely dry.

Shaving cream. Smoothest, silkiest shave of your life. Just be careful not to slip in the shower!

Deodorant. Really. Just try it for a few days. After showering and drying off, put a bit in your hands and rub under your arms. I was skeptical at first but it’s been a few weeks now and I honestly don’t smell bad. Some people mix it with baking soda to make homemade deoderant but it’s been working for me as-is. And it’s aluminum-free so bonus!

Multi-purpose baby product. Harrison has a bit of cradle cap so I’ve been using coconut oil on our little coconut. It’s also great as a body moisturizer, diaper rash cream and for all you breastfeeding mothers it’s helpful if you get irritated or chapped (plus it’s safe for your baby to ingest).

At this point our baby is probably 12% coconut oil

At this point our baby is probably 12% coconut oil

Oil Pulling. Okay this is not for the faint of heart, but if you’re up for it, oil pulling helps to detox your body and helps keep your mouth/teeth/gums clean. Also helps to whiten your teeth without harsh chemicals. What you do is first thing when you wake up you put a tablespoon of coconut oil in your mouth and “swish it around” for 20 minutes. Rinse your mouth with a bit of water and sea salt afterwards, then brush as normal. If you don’t have a trigger gag reflex, give it a try!

Butter alternative. The best pancakes I make are fried in coconut oil. Also great in place of butter in recipes. You can even spread coconut oil on toast or muffins instead of butter. It’s healthier and tastes great. Think about it – you dip bread in olive oil, this is similar and a bit sweeter.

Make four ingredient fudge. REALLY. I found the recipe on one of my favorite blogs, A Cup of Jo, and while it’s not as tasty as sugary fudge it’s still pretty darn good.

In your morning coffee. It replaces cream if you’re cutting out dairy, and I personally like the taste. It’s also an easy way to add it to your diet and get all of it’s awesome health benefits.

For your pet. Our pug gets some dry flaky skin. A bit of coconut oil helps clear it up.

And because coconuts are the gift that just keeps on giving, coconut milk is amazing too. Pour a can into a warm bath for an amazingly luxurious spa-at-home experience. Make thai soups, add it to rice for stir-fry’s or for rice pudding, make coconut curry, hot chocolate, use it in pancake batter or in a million other recipes like this seriously delicious two ingredient chocolate mousse.

Coconut oil, milk, water... it's all good stuff

Coconut oil, milk, water… it’s all good stuff

Hope I’ve given you a few reasons to join the coconut-cult. Membership is growing daily!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Don't be shy - leave a comment

