Give sex in a pan a try

Yeah. I’m pretty sure that title is going to lead to some very confused blog traffic… and now I’m about to bring up my Grandma.

My feisty Grandmother makes this particular dessert, “Sex in a Pan”, and it is always a huge hit. If you Google it you’ll find lots of slight variations on the same recipe but basically everyone agrees it’s insane just how delicious it is. When I try to tell people about it and say “My grandmother’s Sex in a Pan is the best” it earns me a lot of really weird looks.

Sex in a Pan - so much deliciousness

Sex in a Pan – so much deliciousness

Now, I seem to have what people keep referring to as “a good baby”. This always confuses me when people say it, and I can’t help but picture babies raised on the mean streets walking around with tiny switch blades like in West Side Story. Which is crazy. I mean, who would sell a baby a tiny switch blade?

What people really mean by “good baby” is “a fairly quiet baby who sleeps a lot” so technically it would be more accurate to say that I have a lazy baby. Or a narcoleptic baby.

Anyways, this does leave me with spare time to read books and bake so I can’t really complain. I made Sex in a Pan this weekend, Andrew and I ate it for dinner with no regrets, and here is my Grandmother’s recipe;

For the crust

1 1/2 cups of flour (I use all purpose, unbleached)
2/3 cup of butter
1 cup of chopped pecans (or walnuts)
Pinch of salt

Mix all ingredients until crumbly, pat into the bottom off a square 9×12 pan (yes, I know, I used a smaller round pan…) Bake at 375 until lightly brown.

For the layers

Mix together 1 package of cream cheese, 1 cup of icing sugar and 1 cup of cool whip until smooth. Spread over the crust.

Next mix together 1 package of chocolate and 1 package of vanilla instant pudding mix with 2 cups of milk until thick. Spread over the cream cheese mixture.

Top the entire things with remaining Cool Whip and extra chopped nuts, or sprinkled cocoa powder if you want to be fancy.

Share with friends, family, or you can always lock yourself in the bedroom with a bottle of wine a good book and a spoon.

Looks like a total mess, but tastes amazing

Looks like a total mess, but tastes amazing

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Give sex in a pan a try

  1. I used to make this all the time! So delicious!

Don't be shy - leave a comment

