Skor Oatmeal Cookies, my oh my

I love food blogs. The really beautiful photos of perfect food, all ready for Pinterest. This here is not a food blog. Noone in their right mind would pin my food images, unless maybe in an ironic way (are there sarcastic or ironic Pinterest boards? Can we make this happen?) When I have or find a recipe that is easy and tastes amazing – I want to share it. Crappy not-well-styled photos included. So with expectations clearly set, here is one of those recipes.

Big batch of Skor Oatmeal cookies

Big batch of Skor Oatmeal cookies

I started out wanting to make healthy oat bars with dried fruit and nuts, some almond butter… stuff like that. But when I checked my cupboards I didn’t have nuts and dried fruit. I’m all out of raisins too, so oatmeal raisin wasn’t an option. I couldn’t run to the store at the moment because, well, baby (Sidenote: babies are the best excuse for EVERYTHING. I didn’t do laundry because, baby. I can’t go to your event/thing because, baby. My hair smells like this because, well, baby).

What I DID have in the cupboard was half a bag of Skor bits, so I threw them in and oh yes. Totally worked. Totally delicious. And since oats are a source of fibre and iron, you could argue these cookies are sort of healthy… maybe.

Skor Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients*
– 1 1/2 cups of flour (unbleached all purpose flour)
– 1 tsp baking soda
– 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar
– pinch of cinnamon
– pinch of sea salt
– 3 cups of whole grain oats (not instant oats)
– 1 cup unsalted butter
– 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
– 1 egg
– 1/2 package of Skor toffee bits (about 1 cup)

Mix the flour, cinnamon, sea salt and baking soda in one bowl. In a separate bowl, cream together the sugar and butter until smooth then add the egg and vanilla. Mix well, then add to the flour bowl. Finally add the oats and Skor bits, stirring until combined.

Pick up some dough using a spoon, roll into small balls and flatten to about one cm thick. Place on a nonstick baking tray, leaving a few inches around the cookies because they will expand. Bake at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes until the edges are golden brown. Cool and enjoy – giant glass of milk optional.

If you want to take dessert even further – fill two cookies with vanilla ice cream for homemade ice cream sandwiches.

Ice Cream Sandwich - Yum!

Ice Cream Sandwich – Yum!

* You could also just use your favorite oatmeal raisin cookie recipe and swap the raisins for Skor bits. Oatmeal is a pretty standard cookie, so I’m sure the ingredients would be basically the same.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Don't be shy - leave a comment

