Clearly, I could be an Interior Decorator

Living in a downtown Toronto apartment with a baby, space was a bit of an issue. However we’ve somehow made it work using the den as a nursery and incorporating things into the rest of the apartment where we can. I’d like to share a few pictures of how we made room in our apartment for the baby, but first wanted to let you in on my incredible design savvy.

My sister has two beautiful babies, a boy and girl, and being the loving Aunt that I am I wanted to buy something for my nephew’s room when he was born. One day I found an amazing piece in an antique store, it called out “buyyyy meeee….” so I texted my sister a photo and asked her if I could buy it for him. For some reason she politely declined.

Bonus - it's also a cupboard!

Bonus – it’s also a cupboard!

I don’t understand. I mean, talk about multi-functional! It’s decor but ALSO storage? Score.

Sweet dreams

Sweet dreams

A month later my mom was visiting, and it dawned on me why my sister didn’t want the jester-cupboard. I just needed a second opinion first. And so my mom and I wandered around the city and sent my sister pictures throughout the day of various items we thought would be PERFECT for a child’s room. Here is a selection of what we found. (My mom, as you can see, was very enthusiastic about our great suggestions).

It's basically the Mona Lisa

It’s basically the Mona Lisa

Children LOVE clowns. And at $25 it's a steal

Children LOVE clowns. And at $25 it’s a steal

Deer head wall mount? Lame. T-Rex head wall mount? AMAZING. And I hear silver is very in these days

Deer head wall mount? Lame. T-Rex head wall mount? AMAZING. And I hear silver is very in these days

Matching side table – we could have a whole “Jurassic Disco” theme going on

I know it's big, but we could FIND space for it in a Western themed room

I know it’s big, but we could FIND space for it in a Western themed room

I don’t remember all of my sister’s responses via text*, there were some pretty good ones, but I do remember they were along the lines of “No. A thousand times no”. “Are you serious?” and finally getting to “Where the hell are you finding this stuff?!”

So, if you’d like to hire me to design your child’s room, family room, heck any room in the house really – be in touch. My fees are completely reasonable and you’re sure to be the talk of the neighborhood.

* Love you Jodi

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Don't be shy - leave a comment

