What’s for Lunch/Dinner: Mini Meatloaves

I have to admit, I’ve never been a fan of meatloaf. It has nothing to do with taste, it’s just the concept. Meat is just something I felt strongly should not come in loaf form. Bread? Yes. Ground meat? No. But I came across a recipe for mini meatloaves and had all of the ingredients on hand, so thought I would give it a try. It was super quick and easy to make, leftovers are great for Andrew’s lunch and it’s fairly healthy.

Quick and easy meatloaf

Quick and easy meatloaf

Mini meatloaf portions

Mini meatloaf portions

Ingredients
1 pound ground chicken (I used ground turkey, I’m sure you could also use ground beef)
1 garlic clove, minced (I used two because more garlic is usually better in my opinion)
1 small onion, diced
1 large egg
1/2 cup bread crumbs (didn’t have any so I substituted crushed saltine crackers)
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/2 cup marinara sauce
1 teaspoon italian seasoning (I was out so I used dried oregano and basil)
1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
2. In a large bowl, mix together all ingredients to thoroughly combine.
3. Pack greased mini muffin cups with the mixture. Fill to the top as they will shrink a bit during cooking.
4. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until golden and cooked through.

I used a mini square pan, pictured, and baked for 30 minutes. The recipe says it makes 30 but unless you use a pretty tiny muffin tin I don’t see how that would happen. This made 6 for me, and I served it with a side of coleslaw.

If you try it let me know how it turns out for you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Don't be shy - leave a comment

