Beet it, just beet it

Happy Valentine’s Day to those who celebrate it. And happy anti-consumerist-grouchy Day to those who don’t! (I wouldn’t want to exclude anyone).

Love


Personally I think romance is better when it’s unexpected, small gestures spread out over time. Restaurants are crowded and noisy on Valentine’s Day, flowers are overpriced… So Andrew and I are staying in tonight and I’m making dinner – the exact same thing I made him the very first time I made him dinner, which was my homemade carbonara pasta. It’s pretty darn tasty! Even better when you add a bottle of bubbly.

But back to beets, I was going to write about beets. They’re seasonal right now popping up in markets and are super healthy, so I bought a bunch of golden yellow beets and roasted them in the oven. Sliced and topping a salad, they were sooo good. I like cooking yellow beets because they don’t stain like the red ones. The last time I made those my kitchen looked like a crime scene.

You start by heating the oven to 400 C. Peel the beets (if you don’t you can remove the skins after cooking, I just wanted to serve them right away). Place individual beets in foil, seasoned with olive oil salt and pepper. Pop them in the oven for 45 minutes, then check with a fork to make sure they are done. That’s really all there is to it.

I served them on top of an arugula salad with quinoa, made a simple balsamic dressing and crumbled on lots of goat cheese.

Here are a few pictures – if you have any good beet recipes or another way to make them I’d love to hear it.

Beets

More beets

Ready for the oven

Healthy beet salad

Rambo needs a Valentine, look at those soulful eyes! xo

Rambo needs a Valentine, look at those soulful eyes! xo

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Don't be shy - leave a comment

