Twenty Thirteen

A brand new year, the Mayans were wrong and the world didn’t end. Which means we all need to pay off our credit card bills.

This holiday season was a bit overwhelming for me, so I’m glad I have a chance to regroup this month and claw back my sanity. Lots of travel, the stress of moving and spending boxing day in the Emergency Room as a result of an ongoing medical condition I thought was “under control” – nothing like a bit of internal bleeding and morphine to make you evaluate what’s really important in life (more on this some other time).

I didn’t make a resolution, but something about the calendar resetting feels like a slate being wiped clean. I generally try to be positive and healthy(ish), so will try to keep going in this direction. A few other things I want to work on:

Write more letters to people I care about – more personal than email
Exercise, maybe give yoga a shot
Try new things; fencing, cooking classes, salsa dancing etc.
Make more time for close friends
Learn when to say “no” – ironic, since my parents like to remind me it was one of my first words
Don’t drink and make popcorn (I can never seem to figure out how many kernels are “too many” and usually make a mess)

Poor measuring skills

Poor measuring skills

Other things worth getting excited about – seeing our friends Shannon and Liam get married tomorrow. They’re two pretty awesome people and we can’t wait to share this special day with them. It’s at a local brewery, and knowing those two it’s going to be the wedding of the year!

I’m really grateful to have people in my life who care about me, my family, friends, a husband who puts up with a fair amount of sass and a job that continues to challenge me.

Bring it on 2013. I’m ready.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Twenty Thirteen

  1. We can’t wait either! Thank you for all your offers of help and support during these last few crazy months. We look forward to hanging out more once it’s over!

  2. denise

    So sorry to hear you were ill – hope you’re doing ok again now. Dx

Don't be shy - leave a comment

