Recipe for Tangy Quinoa Salad

The colder it gets, the more I start to miss summer. I made this amazing fresh quinoa salad with lemon, mint and cucumbers – it would be perfect for a summer picnic. I honestly love a good picnic. One of my friends gave me a really nice wicker picnic basket as a wedding gift and I can’t wait to use it (it even came with dishes and a blanket – she went all out to feed my crazy outdoor eating obsession. Thanks Meg!)

This recipe is from a Chef Michael Smith cook book and it was really easy to make so I’m just going to summarize.



1. Prepare quinoa according to package directions and let sit.

2. Zest two lemons (I used the very fine side of my cheese grater) and juice them into a bowl, removing any seeds. Add a few tablespoons of olive oil, salt, pepper and mix. Set aside.

3. Seed one large cucumber and chop into pieces. Also finely chop two green onions, about 1 cup of fresh mint and 2 cups of fresh flat leaf  parsley.

4. In a large bowl mix the quinoa with the lemon dressing and chopped cucumber, mint, green onion and parsley. Add a bit more salt or pepper to taste.

You could eat this as is, but I put it on top of a bit of mixed salad greens.

If you have a few lemons left over you could make some lemonade (you already juiced two, what’s a few more?) Add mint and cucumber if you’re feeling adventurous – tastes so good in homemade lemonade.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Recipe for Tangy Quinoa Salad

  1. congratulations all for the excellent text – very good

Don't be shy - leave a comment

